Bangladesh Academy of Sciences

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Site Login

Site Login

Home News Press Releases International Science Education Workshop

International Science Education Workshop

The Bangladesh Academy of Sciences will organize an International Workshop on Science Education on 10 October in the Auditorium of the National Museum of Science and Technology, Agargaon, Dhaka. About  60 participants from 12 countries including Bangladesh, Australia, China,  India, Iran, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, Russia, Singapore, Thailand and  Turkey will participate and discuss about the status of science education at the primary and secondary levels in different countries and regions, ways and means of improving methods of science education, inquiry based science education etc.  And interaction with the policy makers for improvement of science education. The participants of the workshop will include policy makers, teachers and academics from different countries.

The workshop on science education is being jointly organized by the Bangladesh Academy of Sciences (BAS), the Association of Academies of Sciences in Asia (AASA) an the Federation of Asian Scientific Academies and Societies (FASAS) in order to promote excellence in science education and practice for sustainable development. The common objectives of BAS, AASA and FASAS are advancement of science and technology, and to that end organization of national and regional programmes for the development in the Member Countries and to provide a forum for scientists and technologies to discuss and provide advice on issues related to science and technology, research and development and the application of science and technology for national development.

Architect, Yeafesh Osman, Hon’ble State Minister, Ministry of Science and Information & Communication Technology will kindly inaugurate the workshop as the Chief Guest. Professor Jinghai Li, President, AASA and Professor Omar Abdul Rahman, President, FASAS will be special guests on the occasion. Professor M. Shamsher Ali, President, BAS will Chair the inaugural Ceremony.